Erwin and Unicoi elect BMA members

Erwin Record Photo by Bryan Stevens • The final election of the 2022 cycle is now one for the history book.

From staff reports

In Tennessee’s last election in 2022, voters in the towns of Erwin and Unicoi headed to the polls on Tuesday, November 8 to elect representatives to their respective mayoral and aldermen councils.

In Erwin, Angie Wilcox Vaughn stood out as the top voter, winning 961 votes for 27.06% of the votes cast. Incumbent Michael Baker won a third term in the BMA with 753 votes for 21.21% of the votes cast. Cathy J. Huskins won the third open seat, obtaining 736 votes for 20.73% of the votes cast.

The remaining candidates, John Day and Dustin Walden, received 370 and 713 votes respectively.

At Unicoi, with two open seats up for grabs, the winners in a crowded field were Kevin McInturff and incumbent Wanda Radford. McInturff 578 votes for 27.71% of the votes cast while Radford obtained 485 votes for 23.25%.

Holder Judy Ray placed third and will not return to the BMA. Ray received 17.98% of the votes cast in the race with his 375 votes.

The remaining candidates in the race were Richard E. Dorris (148 votes), Billy R. Harkins Jr (116 votes), Rocky McInturff (192 votes), and Kim Hampton Rutherford (183 votes).

While nationally an anticipated red wave for the Republican Party apparently waned, Tennessee remained bright red.

In US House District 1, Republican Diana Harshbarger won re-election. Harshbarger received 81.33% of the vote in Unicoi County with a total of 4,146 votes. His Democratic challenger Cameron Parsons received 840 votes in the county for 16.48% of the vote.

Republican Steve Southerland won for Tennessee Senate District 9. Southerland received 3,982 votes for 82.15% of the votes. His Democratic challenger Sara Thompson finished with 857 votes for 17.68%.

In Tennessee District House 4, John B. Holtsclaw, who was unopposed, won re-election with 4,335 votes for 97.57% of the votes cast.

Tennessee Governor Bill Lee won a second term with an impressive finish in Unicoi County, where the governor received 4,235 votes for 80.57 percent of the votes cast in the county.

Lee’s Democratic challenger Jason Brantley Martin won 910 votes in Unicoi County for 17.31% of the votes cast.

The results are based on unofficial figures which have yet to be certified.

Unicoi County Elections Administrator Sarah Fain said the certification will take place at 10 a.m. Friday, Nov. 18 at the offices of the Unicoi County Board of Elections.

Fain described Election Day as busy.

“We make sure people get to the right place,” she said. “It went very well.”

Fain noted that the next election in Unicoi County will not take place until March 2024. This election, she noted, will be a presidential and county primary.

“We got 2,900 people to vote early,” Fain noted.

Early voting ended on Thursday, November 3.

“That’s a bit less than the 2018 terms,” ​​Fain said, though she pointed out that the 2018 election had open seats for the U.S. Senate and Tennessee governor.

“It’s pretty good,” she said.

Fain noted that 25% of eligible voters in the county voted during the early voting period, which secured Unicoi County third place statewide for percentage of voters voting in early voting.

Check for election updates.